Complete Spinal Cord Injuries

Complete spinal cord injuries result in paraplegia or quadriplegia. This is a permanent loss of motor and nerve function at T1 level or below, which means that the person loses sensation and movement in the legs, bowel, bladder, and sexual region, while arms and hands retain normal function.

Incomplete Spinal Cord Injuries

Incomplete spinal cord injuries are categorized by some sensation and movement below the point of injury. The extent of an incomplete injury is usually determined when the spinal shock has subsided, which occurs six or eight weeks after an injury.

Incomplete spinal cord injuries have five categories:

  • Anterior cord syndrome
  • Brown-sequard syndrome
  • Causa equina lesion
  • Central cord syndrome
  • Posterior cord syndrome
Facebook Comments